Chicago Travel Blog Part 1

Girls John Mayer

My latest trip to the windy city was one of my most spontaneous trips I have ever gone on. One of the first weekends in September I took a girls trip to Chicago. We planned it just one week prior to going. The main reason for making the jaunt to Chi-Town was to see the undoubtedly famous John Mayer. It was just a two day trip but we made sure to make every minute count. We got into town just in time for the concert, cutting it so close only having about 20 minutes to get ready. Regardless of what we looked like we were ready to have a blast. The night was going great and nothing could rain on our parade, that is except for the fact it started actually raining. Now, this wasn’t just a light refreshing mist, it was a torrential downpour. The rain was definitely not on our radar, but it sure was on Chicago’s. Just because we were now sopping wet and not to mention freezing, it did not change the fact that we were about to see John Mayer. After about an hour of waiting in the rain and a few trips to the bathroom hand dryer for warmth, John Mayer came on stage. Just like that, we forgot about everything that was going on and lived in the moment for once, it was amazing. Music is such a great stress reliever and a concert is a perfect place to escape to.

Nashville Travel Blog

This past August I went to the wonderful city of Nashville, Tennessee. It is one of my favorite cities to visit and love that every time I go it feels like home. I traveled to music city with my older sister, it was our first road trip all on our own so it made it extra special. The main reason for our travels was for a concert. It was at the Bridgestone Arena downtown. Although it wasn’t a country concert, it was still a great atmosphere for great music. To start off our evening we found a restaurant right next door to the venue. It was the perfect start to the night with amazing food and like most eateries in Nashville, had live music. We finished off the night with the main concert and it was a blast. The next morning we wanted to take full advantage of our last day in Tennessee. There are tons of famous mural walls around downtown that make for the perfect photo-op, we made sure to make it to all of them and enjoy the scenery around them. Next to one of the murals is one of the cutest clothing boutiques I have ever seen.  The store, Draper James, is a high-end boutique so everything was completely out of my price range being a broke college student. But the best thing about it is that they give you complimentary sweet tea in the most adorable cup. So even though I could not buy anything, they still made me feel special with my drink. We then moved on to eat lunch at the best coffee shop called Caviar and Bananas. I had a french dip and it was to die for. I highly recommend anyone in the area to check it out. After lunch, it was a sad time because it was finally time for us to part ways with the gorgeous city. It was such a short trip, but we packed as much as possible into it. I love Nashville and I cannot wait to go back!